top of page
Search

old main


If you've checked me out on facebook -- the links to all of my social media accounts can be found at the bottom of the Home page :) --, you've already read part of this blog, but it is SO, SO relevant to my life right now.

As I was walking to my first 8am of the semester, I found myself already miserable and angry. I got the notification late last night that my class had been moved across campus, meaning that I had to walk farther and get up earlier. I'm lazy, I know, I know. I stopped in my tracks and took a second to breathe. This was not how I wanted to start off the semester: freezing, angry, and miserable. I realized that I hadn't prayed about my semester yet, no wonder I was starting off miserable. As I continued walking to class, I prayed that God would use me this semester. I prayed that He would make me available to those around me, and that he would help me actively seek opportunities to spread His light. I prayed that he would help me overcome fears and uneasiness when meeting others and forming relationships with them.

Just a little over three hours later, I received a text from a girl that would be singing in one of my choirs this semester. I had reached out to her before winter break because I know how intimidating this particular ensemble can be, and I wanted her to feel like she already had a friend coming into it. She had asked if we could grab lunch, and explained how excited she was to be in this choir and to meet everyone. We went to choir, and hit it off. It turns out that we both play piano, both sing the alto part, and have a lot of the same feelings and interests. I never would have thought to pursue a relationship with her, just because I can be somewhat shy sometimes, but when she reached out to me, I knew this was my first chance to be available and fearless. We had a great time studying and being in class, and we now plan on getting lunch and studying together every week!!

There's a scary thing about trying to be readily available for other people.If you're like me, people haven't always treated you the best, and because of that it is hard to form relationships and trust people. I know that is an area that God wants me to grow this year, and I am going to do my best to let Him.


END

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2021

answers

action

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page