top of page
Search

uncomfy

This word has become a staple in my vocabulary here recently. I too often find myself uncomfortable.I hate being uncomfortable, and I am sure most people would agree with that statement. I would much rather be in a situation or with other people that I can be myself and not have to worry about what's happening and what people are doing or saying.

Unfortunately, I also feel uncomfortable when God calls me to do something out of my comfort zone.



When I decided to go to the University of Arkansas, I was scared out of my mind. I felt like I was settling because financial issues were too big. I felt like I was putting 8-year-old Nicole's dreams at risk. I felt like this was jeopardizing my future (I know I was dramatic). After talking with my childhood mentor, I decided that God wanted me here. After being accepted, and accepting my acceptance, I began to apply for scholarships. I knew I was a competitive candidate, but I also knew that I wasn't the best applicant out there. I went through round after round, so many essays and interviews, until I got the email that I had received a full ride to the University of Arkansas. I mean a full ride, and I cried when I got that email. Not just because a huge financial burden had been lifted off my shoulders, but because I felt like God was confirming that He had me in His hands if I would just trust Him.

This last semester, I struggled with a huge failure academically.I still kept my scholarship, and it was only a failure of my personal standards. It is considered a successful semester to just about everyone else. I was balancing two majors and two minors, along with numerous extracurriculars and two jobs. I was quite a busy gal. I've spent most of this summer attempting to reorganize my life and figure out how I am going to make sure that my next six semesters are nothing like this past one.

I read an instagram post by a sorority sister of mine last week that encouraged us to trust where God was taking us even in the face of uncertainty. At the end of her post, she listed a lot of things that typically make college students nervous, but the one that kept me up that night was "change your major". I had been debating if stressing myself out was worth it, but I didn't want to let people down, and I didn't want to start over. I was uncomfortable with the idea of going back to the drawing board at the beginning of my sophomore year. I did some praying, talked with my friends, and decided that I was gonna do it. I emailed my advisor, filled out the forms, and officially dropped one of my majors. I redid my class schedule and cleared out my computer for a fresh start. Guys, the stress off my shoulders was almost instant. I felt this wave of peace and calm wash over me. One that I hadn't felt since before I started college.

Flash-forward to this morning. I am now studying Biology (BS) and Spanish (BA), and I am Pre-Med. I had a Spanish oral exam that I was absolutely terrified for. I was shaking. I stayed up all night, slept for a few hours, and then got right back up to continue studying. I have never been confident speaking a different language, and I needed a good grade on this- after all I am a new Spanish major(as of this past Saturday). I was shaking during the entire interview. It concluded and I got the dreaded email that my grade had posted. I got a 96%. Let me just say that again, because I think I'm still in a state of shock. I got a 96%. The highest grade I have ever received on a Spanish exam. I know some people will say that I studied a ton and I've worked hard and I deserve it. But I fully believe that I succeed because I decided to trust God and get uncomfortable.

I know this was longer than my usual, but this message is so, so good. Let God use you. However that presents itself in your life whether that's finding a new job, moving to a new town, changing your major, embracing your true self. Let God use you in spite of how uncomfortable it may be.


END

117 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2021

answers

action

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page